Throughout the United States, it is approximated that roughly six million car accidents take place every year. That is more than 11 accidents every minute. The majority of these accidents are extremely dangerous. Nearly three million people every year are injured as a result of these accidents.
More often than it should, whether out of fear or simply not wanting to accept responsibility for their poor decision-making skills, guilty drivers will sometimes flee the scene without even reporting the incident. This compounds the seriousness of the collision by drawing out the amount of time it takes for injured pedestrians to get help.
The practice of hit and runs undoubtedly takes place everywhere in the country, but they seem to be particularly common in certain areas.
The top 10 states are as follows:
Legislators in The Mountain State recently executed a new regulation asserting that any driver involved in a car accident that causes death or injury is required to immediately stop their car as near the scene until law enforcement has told them otherwise. Failure to abide by this law is a felony, punishable by as long as five years in prison.
Not dissimilar from West Virginia, lawmakers in The Sunflower State also recently increased punishments associated with hit and run accidents. A house bill now declares that fleeing the scene of an accident is a felony offense worthy of time behind bars.
Along with a massive number of hit and run accidents, The Buckeye State is one of four states in the top 10 with a prior accident rate higher than the national average. Only Virginia and Iowa have a greater number of drivers with at least one speeding ticket.
The Beehive State has the seventh-highest percentage of drivers with a hit and run, as well as a high percentage of drivers with a prior accident rate that is more than 10 percent higher than the national average
A hit and run accident in the Constitution State will stay on your driving record for as long as 10 years, even though the actual crime is punishable by as long as 10 years in prison for only the direst of circumstances, like a hit and run that ends in someone’s death.
Old Dominion has the fifth-highest percentage of drivers cited for tailgating, and 17.24 percent of Virginia motorists have a citation for speeding on their records, the highest percentage in the country.
Even though it has a percentage of drivers with a hit and run that is almost two times the national average, the Prairie State does well in other safety metrics, namely its percentage of drivers with a previous accident on their record.
Drivers who are responsible for a hit and run accident that involves severe injury or death face as long as 15 years in prison in the Great Lakes State, as well as much as $10,000 in administrative fines.
The Hawkeye State is the second-worst state in the country when it comes to hit and run violations, and that’s not the only problem it has with driver safety. An extraordinary 16.97 percent have a speeding ticket on their record, while 3.45 percent of motorists have a prior DWI violation. Both of these numbers fall into the top 10 categories for every state in the country.
The Equality State does not extend its moniker to its percentage of drivers with a prior hit and run, which is almost four times the national average, and approximately 40 percent higher than any other state.
If you or someone you love has suffered an injury as the result of another person’s negligence, then you may be entitled to receive financial compensation for damages. You need a reputable personal injury attorney who is experienced in handling these kinds of cases.
If you are seeking legal representation for a pending lawsuit and you want an attorney who is esteemed, qualified, and knowledgeable in handling these sorts of injury cases, then the personal injury attorneys at the Injury Victim Law offices are just who you’re looking for.
If you would like a free consultation with one of our skilled personal injury attorneys regarding your pending personal injury case, we are here to help. Please reach out to us by calling (800) 245-2774 to schedule your appointment for your free consultation today.